Farmers Mutual Insurance Board of Directors

The Board of Directors at Farmers Mutual Insurance is the foundational force behind the strength of our company. We currently have an 8-member board that meets quarterly to set the direction for the company. 

Many different backgrounds and skills are represented on our board along with diversity in age and experience. Each one of our board members has achieved their Farm Mutual Director Certification from the National Association of Mutual Insurance Companies (NAMIC). 

This designation is proof that they take the governance of the company seriously and are well educated on how to carry out that responsibility. 

Board Members


John Van Gorp

Member since 2007

Farmer and Owner of Sheldon Power and Equipment

Board Member

Roger Fedders

Member since 2003

Farmer near Sioux Center

Board Member

Brian Sadler

Member since 2012

Farmer near Correctionville

Board Member

Jim Jensen

Member since 2017
Regional Operations Manager for Cooperative Farmers Elevator in Larchwood

Vice Chairman

Gerald Van Roekel

Member since 2015

Insurance Agent with Van Engelenhoven Agency 

Board Member

Phil Landman

Member since 2008

Farmer near Hull

Board Member

Brad Van Heuvelen

Member since 2015

Trust Department at Peoples Bank in Sioux Center

Board Member

Joe Schlenger

Member since 2018

Farmer and Insurance Agent with Smith Insurance Agency in Marcus